GenZ News for Kids: A Free-Thinking Education Starts Here ...

Understanding the Electoral College

Who are America’s electors?

Level: Liberty Explorers - Elementary School Liberty Discoverers - Middle School Liberty Patriots - High School
If you notice a yellow highlight on the page, hover over it for the definition!

During the Constitutional Convention in 1787, one of the most critical issues our Founding Fathers wanted to settle was how to pick the president. Many wanted a straight popular vote. However, others were worried that this would give too much power to states with big cities, like New York. This would mean states with fewer people wouldn’t really get a say in it.

According to the U.S. Constitution, every four years the president and vice president are chosen by a group of electors, collectively called the Electoral College. The Constitution says electors can’t be anyone in a federal office, but otherwise leaves it up to the individual states to regulate.

Today, there are 538 electors. That’s one for each member of the House of Representatives, one for each Senator, and three for the District of Columbia.

How Electors Are Selected

Each state has its own way of appointing electors. On Election Day, whoever wins the popular vote in the state typically gets all electors. But results are not certified until the electors meet on the first Monday after the second Wednesday in December.

Faithless Electors

The process of electing the president is usually smooth and transparent – but there have been exceptions. In some cases, electors go against the popular vote result in their state and vote for whoever they want. But electors don’t break faith often. When they do, they usually don’t vote for the other leading candidate. Instead, it’s usually to make a political statement.

In the 2016 presidential election, ten electors tried to break with their states on the presidential ballot. Three of them were fined under faithless elector laws and either voted for who they were pledged to or were replaced. Of the remaining seven, three voted for Colin Powell and one each voted for John Kasich, Ron Paul, Bernie Sanders, and a Native American activist named Faith Spotted Eagle. Altogether, Clinton lost five electors and Donald Trump lost two, but it was not nearly enough to change the election.

National Columnist at and Sarah has been a writer in the political and corporate worlds for over 25 years. As a sought-after speech writer, her clients included CEOs, U.S. Senators, Congressmen, Governors, and even a Vice President. She’s worked as Contributing Editor at Scottsdale Life, a news reporter for the Journal and Courier, and guest opinion political writer for numerous publications nationwide. A born storyteller, Sarah has published a full-length book and is currently finishing a quirky, sarcastic, second novel.

Related Posts