GenZ News for Kids: A Free-Thinking Education Starts Here ...


Arizona: The 48th State in the Union

Arizona became the 48th state to join the US in 1912.

If you notice a yellow highlight on the page, hover over it for the definition!

Arizona was the 48th state admitted into the United States, but its history spans many thousands of years. Over the past 2,000 years, the society developed and became more advanced. This more developed group, now referred to as Native Americans, lived in villages called pueblos, a name that comes from the Spanish word meaning “town” or “village.”

In the early 1700s, Roman Catholic missionaries started churches and other Hispanics began to settle in the area. Times were hard for these settlers as they had to be careful of Apache raiders. In 1821, Mexico successfully won its independence from Spain, and the new government ordered missions in Arizona to close. In 1848, Arizona was given to the United States as part of New Mexico, and in 1863, it became independent of New Mexico.

Present Day

There are 15 tribes of natives residing on 17 reservations. Tonto Apache, Navajo, Hopi, Tohono O’Odham, and Pima are the most recognized tribes still living in the area.

Arizona, known as the Grand Canyon State, became a part of the US as its own state on Valentine’s Day (February 14), 1912.

Interesting Facts

  • Capital city: Phoenix
  • The Grand Canyon is 277 miles long, up to 18 miles wide, and one mile deep. It took the Colorado River somewhere between three to six million years to form the canyon.
  • Arizona has more designated tribal land than anywhere else in the United States.
  • Oraibi, a Hopi Indian village that dates back to at least AD 1150, is thought to be the oldest settlement in the US that is still inhabited.
  • The Saguaro Cactus Blossom is the state’s official flower. It only blooms in May and June in the middle of the night and closes the next day; surviving only 18 hours.
  • Navajo Indians from Arizona transmitted secret communications for the US Marines after the Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor in 1941. They were known as the Navajo Code Talkers.
  • Arizona is one of two states that do not observe Daylight Saving Time.
Kelli Ballard

National Correspondent at and Kelli Ballard is an author, editor, and publisher. Her writing interests span many genres including a former crime/government reporter, fiction novelist, and playwright. Originally a Central California girl, Kelli now resides in the Seattle area.

Related Posts